The Big Short – A Horror Movie?

Because The Big Shorcame out in 2015, I’m going to assume that anyone who is reading this isn’t averse to spoilers, also the financial crisis happened almost a decade ago, so I’m diving right into the ending of The Big Short, which I found horrifying.

I watched the film tonight and, as an engineer, I found the fact that Michael Burry, played by Christian Bale, is currently investing in water highly disturbing.  This world is running out of clean water and it appears that pollution may affect this country more and more over the coming years, so seeing that a man who was able to predict the housing bubble and our economic crash is investing in water is, well, scary.

I am crap at economics, having to pause the film a couple times just to understand everything, but I understood how screwed we will be if something of this magnitude happens again.  And if water is the next big thing that will screw us over, well shit.  Burry is obviously a highly intelligent individual, just read any interview with him and you can tell he treats all of his investments seriously and is a very logical person.  So knowing, from a scientific and engineering perspective, how important water is to our civilization, well, it’s unnerving.

We need to be diligent and aware of the world at large.  The ones at the top have a lot of control, and that can affect everyone and our way of life.  Sometimes for good, and, as exhibited in The Big Short, sometimes for the very bad.  I knew about the market crash, I felt the unemployment and the despair.  I was unemployed when I graduated college, as were many of my friends and family members.  But I didn’t understand how bad it was from a market standpoint.  To see it explained clearly, thanks to fun celebrity cameos, was helpful.  And as I learned more, the more shocked I became.

I know this has become a bit of a rant, and I try to avoid politics or grandstanding, but it’s late at night and I was surprised by the effectiveness of the film.  The Big Short, is a comedic drama that really got to me.  I didn’t expect to be this pissed and this nervous.  But that’s the wonderful thing about movies and art.  It can surprise you with unknown depths and emotions.  And sometimes a movie from the director of Anchorman and Talladega Nights can scare the hell out of you.

Leave a Reply

