Hello Film Fans – An Introduction

Hi.

Let me be honest with you upfront.  I’ve never written a blog before and I didn’t go to film school.  I took a few film classes in college and high school, but that’s it when it comes to a formal education for filmmaking and film studies.  Practically everything I know about movies is self-taught in one way or another.  I don’t claim to be an expert on movies, but I feel it is safe to say I’m knowledgeable on the topic.  Essentially, like many of you, I have a passion for movies that appears to be boundless.  I am a film geek, a cinephile, a movie buff, a fan.  I simply love cinema and want to share that love with you.

Growing up, my parents would show me old black and white classics such as Bringing up Baby, The Philadelphia Story and Casablanca.  I owe a lot to them for introducing to me, at such a young age, great actors like Cary Grant and Katharine Hepburn.  If it weren’t for my parents, I would have been like many kids at that time who thought old movies were boring because they weren’t in color.  I’d be ignorant and I wouldn’t have loved to watch old Hitchcock and Bond films, been fascinated by Humphrey Bogart, or fallen in love with Grace Kelley.  My affinity for movies and the history of film started at a young age.  And as I grew older, I spread my love of film to other countries, seeing wonderful foreign masterpieces like Seven Samurai and The Lives of Others, and to appreciating many different genres.

If I ever did go to film school, I probably would have studied film criticism.  I loved making movies with my friends when I was younger, but I was too impatient to wait for the finished product.  Spending nights and hours to prepare for a two minute scene was too much for me.  I found editing more fun because I could see the movies we made come together before my eyes.  But while creating our silly little comedies and shorts, all I wanted to do was see it and talk about it.  For me, it’s much more fun watching and sharing a finished movie with people and discussing it.

And that’s the goal of this blog: to talk about movies; to finally do something that I should have done eight and a half years ago when I graduated high school; to publicly share my opinions, criticisms, movie news, and my love for an art form I find magical.

The art of cinema is always one I am drawn to and cannot deny its power over me.  Film can cause joy, excitement, fear, love, sadness.  A masterpiece can move us to silence, to extreme applause.

So please join me in my attempt at this newest hobby.  Come with me as I explore a magical fantastic realm filled with technical artistry, characters and heroes we adore, villains we love to hate even more, and stories we share.  I hope you enjoy reading The Film Realm.

2 thoughts on “Hello Film Fans – An Introduction

  1. Paul S says:

    I’m a little late to wish you good luck with your blog, but I’ve been browsing your archive and I just wanted to let you know I’ve enjoyed what I’ve read so far.
    I notice in your introduction you proclaim your love for older films.Will your cult classic reviews be a regular feature?

    Like

    1. thefilmrealm says:

      Thanks! I hope to write more about older movies. I need to make a schedule to force myself to write more, and cult reviews like the one for Big Trouble are definitely something I want to explore

      Like

Leave a Reply

